First of all - wtf UFC 104 -- I was so excited to watch Machida put a whoopin to Shogun... I'm with the crowd on this one - BOOOOOOO :(
Alright, the meat and taters. She has placenta previa according to the doctors. Basically, the placenta grows in over the cervix instead of on the upper uterine walls like it should.
With that intro, now I can explain - got home 10PM on Sunday. I was getting prepared to clean cat boxes and I hear a shriek from upstairs. Then the "OMG, we have to go to the hospital!" I went into autopilot - I couldn't have ordered out an ambulance to get to the hospital faster. She had wiped twice and large blood clots were coming from down below. So 5 minutes later we are there (two red lights and about 75mph down 30th in Heath). We get into a bed within about 20 minutes and we slowly got to calm down. Very slowly... first, a trip to labor and maternity floor, where the hospital states they made a mistake regarding the due date -- we had told them twice the complication in the dates... when will they get it? Anyways, it was finally midnight 'ish when a nurse came in with a Doppler machine to get a heart rate for the baby. Baby was fine - what a sigh of relief for us. An hour later, we were sent to Ultrasound for some pictures to find out what was going on. This was the big relief - the baby waved at us, letting us know he was O.K. My heart felt like a load was lifted from it and at the same time, I felt a bit attached to my little guy. We believe about 50% of the 90% probability of this one being a boy (the rad. tech said it was about 90%), but I explained to Erin that stuff I've read states that 'tail' is still going away at 15 weeks and that we should wait to be sure at the 20 week mark. This marks the first 'real' images of a baby for us -- I should not have been experiencing this at 1:07am on a Monday morning. So 'Peanut' is fine, as we have come to call the child, and the hospital finally releases us just before 5am. We had an hour roughly before getting Sadie up for school, as her grandmother had taken her for the night for us.
We took today off and rested - this experience is one of the top 5 most stressful I've been in ever. We are fine and have talked about being 'easygoing' for the remainder of the term. When we had picked up Sadie from the sitter, Erin had 'ran' up the stairs, and I'm 99% sure that triggered this episode of events. This was a good experience that she should listen to me more and be careful -- a year ago she was quite the rebel and everyone would say she's improved a lot from then.
Morale of the story: That which does not kill us will only make us stronger.
L8r
No comments:
Post a Comment