26 October 2009

A bit of a scare

Back so soon I am... but I am finding if I write about it - I don't forget what's going on and it helps relieve some of the tension.

First of all - wtf UFC 104 -- I was so excited to watch Machida put a whoopin to Shogun... I'm with the crowd on this one - BOOOOOOO :(

Alright, the meat and taters. She has placenta previa according to the doctors. Basically, the placenta grows in over the cervix instead of on the upper uterine walls like it should.

With that intro, now I can explain - got home 10PM on Sunday. I was getting prepared to clean cat boxes and I hear a shriek from upstairs. Then the "OMG, we have to go to the hospital!" I went into autopilot - I couldn't have ordered out an ambulance to get to the hospital faster. She had wiped twice and large blood clots were coming from down below. So 5 minutes later we are there (two red lights and about 75mph down 30th in Heath). We get into a bed within about 20 minutes and we slowly got to calm down. Very slowly... first, a trip to labor and maternity floor, where the hospital states they made a mistake regarding the due date -- we had told them twice the complication in the dates... when will they get it? Anyways, it was finally midnight 'ish when a nurse came in with a Doppler machine to get a heart rate for the baby. Baby was fine - what a sigh of relief for us. An hour later, we were sent to Ultrasound for some pictures to find out what was going on. This was the big relief - the baby waved at us, letting us know he was O.K. My heart felt like a load was lifted from it and at the same time, I felt a bit attached to my little guy. We believe about 50% of the 90% probability of this one being a boy (the rad. tech said it was about 90%), but I explained to Erin that stuff I've read states that 'tail' is still going away at 15 weeks and that we should wait to be sure at the 20 week mark. This marks the first 'real' images of a baby for us -- I should not have been experiencing this at 1:07am on a Monday morning. So 'Peanut' is fine, as we have come to call the child, and the hospital finally releases us just before 5am. We had an hour roughly before getting Sadie up for school, as her grandmother had taken her for the night for us.

We took today off and rested - this experience is one of the top 5 most stressful I've been in ever. We are fine and have talked about being 'easygoing' for the remainder of the term. When we had picked up Sadie from the sitter, Erin had 'ran' up the stairs, and I'm 99% sure that triggered this episode of events. This was a good experience that she should listen to me more and be careful -- a year ago she was quite the rebel and everyone would say she's improved a lot from then.

Morale of the story: That which does not kill us will only make us stronger.

L8r

24 October 2009

A day in the life of an airport worker

Went a little something like this:


1. Yesterday's work wasn't done. I look at the positive, as I was able to push more of my 'taking over the world' propaganda onto another helpless victim. In other words... why put off the inevitable - I'm sure the guilty party won't care... he's like that. As a result - a situation that could have been scrutinized more closely slipped through the cracks, and we will never know what really was going on.

2. It seems that lots of people are having bad luck as of late. I get a phone call from a workstation speaking of a female in front of an airline ticket counter who is crying hysterically. My job involves engaging people to determine what is causing them to do different from the norm. It turns out this lady had received news earlier this afternoon that her husband was in a car wreck in another state and she was trying to get to him. While standing at the counter, she receives the dreadful call that he had passed. I can only begin to understand the grief in a tragedy such as this, and she is in my prayers this evening. It is unfortunate the world lost this guy, as it seems he was in the military from what I got from intel work.

3. To top off the evening, a 'disgruntled' worker was processing through a checkpoint, and because of the way she presented herself, she was selected for a pat down. This lady threw a fit, refused to be screened, and was demanding names of anyone she encountered. It took a bit of biting my lip not to go off on this lady, as I had just walked into the situation and she was offended my hands were in my pockets. At least she complained to people with guns, and 'threatened' to sue us for choosing her for the pat down. Morale of the story - it doesn't matter who you are, you're going to get whatever is necessary to clear you. I find out later that this person had concealed a knife on herself a few weeks prior... why can't we have people such as this on a list of 'real threats' to the world?

So, my thoughts for today - Expect the unexpected on your Monday. Prepare for the worse. Know that the world is going to hell in a hand basket.

L8r,

22 October 2009

Concealed Carry

I finally received my license to CCW.

Today was my first day doing exactly that. It feels a bit weird walking around with it, but I'm getting used to it quickly. I find myself looking a bit more aware of my surroundings... probably cause I'm partially paranoid still that someone will happen to notice and freak out.

It is good to utilize a constitutional right. It shows that our world is not entirely lost yet... and it is necessary to be prepared.

You never know when Zombieland comes to a backyard near you.

19 October 2009

The Pre-trial

Well, here we go.

Pre-trial was today... I love what I do for a living.

When she thundered into the area, I identified her to my lawyer as the one with the heavy footfalls.

She refused to look at me, but her attorney and her mother both glared at me. Am I supposed to be intimidated? I think I can explain the attorney and the mother though....

Attorney: Has to deal with her OCD about every aspect of this event. He's going to be pissed at me because he has to deal with her $hit.

Her Mother: She was so optimistic that I would be the person who would finally take the vindictive one off her hands after 37 long years. Sorry to let you down mom, I know you will forgive me someday. If it sounded too good to be true, it's because it was. I was wrong for jumping in with both feet when I wasn't ready.

So... judge wants numbers - and so do I. I want to see where she attempts to cover up her debts, because I'm pretty sure the judge can side with me on spending 5 years with the wench and having nothing to show for it, even after the fact that I paid all her outstanding debts, bought her last divorce, got her a house, updated it and gave the pig air conditioning. She wanted it all from me, I left with the clothes on my back and she secured the rest. I tried to work with her... she took my transportation - f her.

Say prayers that I won't get screwed by her one last time - she's clearly ahead of the trailer park I pulled her ass from.

My attorney agrees that if she wants to fight - we should be entitled to half of everything - cut that car up, cut the house in half, sell that truck... yeah - does she REALLY want to do this?


Good day!

15 October 2009

So, today marks the first week where the misses and I only share a single day off.

It's gone terrible so far. We have a creepy painter guy working on patching these holes left by the plumber - the likelihood of this guy pulling a stunt on her is low, but I'm in the wrong for not staying home and going to my martial arts class instead.

Frankly, I'm pissed at her. I woke her up out of courtesy and now... well I'm at a loss.

I don't know what I should do... nothing happened but was I in the wrong? Is it the hormones?

I'm a mess right now. This stuff isn't as easy as I thought.

05 October 2009

First Blog

Of course - this is how a lot of places coin their first blog.

Frankly, I don't know how much time I will invest into this blog... I guess that will depend on the traffic aka - whoever cares about what I have to say.

So lets see...

I'm a seeder! My bag of Davis Sunflower Seeds is sitting next to me and I have a cup I'm spitting shells into. This is a great way to keep yourself occupied without taking up things like.. smoking... drugs... and so forth. Which reminds me...

My doctor likes to ask questions whenever I visit him with symptoms. Take for example a couple weeks ago; I went in with a complaint that I was suffering from high blood pressure and I felt it could be a considerable cause to these headaches I have had since about 6 months moving to Ohio. Now, these headaches have changed over time, which has led me to two conclusions: Either my jaw is aggravating my trigeminal nerve bundle (this sits up near your jaw joint) or my teeth being crooked and crammed has something to do with them. Not only am I a seeder, but I'm a teeth grinder.

Anyways - back to my point. My doctor asked me whether I was using street drugs. I suppose it is a legitimate question when I talk about 'brain fog' (something I have suffered from as of late), but I work for the government. I wouldn't jeopardize my job for a 5 minute fix and a lifetime of consequences. Well, doc didn't address the brain fog much - I'm on an antidepressant to help cope with de-stressing myself when I sleep ... less stress + less grind = no headache.

Sounds great! So now I feel like I'm on skittles... vitamins, blood pressure med, and this antidepressant. I still take Aleve to relieve my pain - which I get regularly in my jaw and my right side of my head. Aleve is some good stuff... little risk in long term and liquid gel capsules work great in providing relief. The pain I get comes and goes... maybe I should see if it is similar to my buddy circusninja's endless pain in his hand. I probably should have had my wisdom teeth pulled at an earlier age... I thought I had and I had told the military the same... oops - it cost me $1600 instead. When I had them pulled - the headaches changed. I can relate this to Kool-Aid. You have a watermelon and a fruit punch flavor, and they are the same color and taste somewhat similar, but they are different. So my pain was the same, but it adjusted it's positioning in my head. Unfortunately - I can't get a doctor or dentist to do something about it... at least not without putting me several grand in the hole. Thanks to federal health care for not covering TMJ problems - I'm sure they are costing the government millions a year.

Anyways - saying hello to the blog world; hello world.